Skip to content

2009

December 31, 2009


2009 was a transition year for me. It was a year of experimentations (successful and failed, at that). And things and events this year were actually more spontaneous and unplanned. Perhaps, I was trying to deviate from the usual, the scheduled-and-always-on-point me. 2009 may not be as eventful as with previous years, but it surely is a very meaningful one (with more than half of my year spent on introspection and planning my next big moves).

Now looking forward for a great 2010.

At Tha Leik Gyi village tract, southern Myanmar.

Where did you begin 2009?
Still in Myanmar. I remember finishing (more of rushing, actually) our needs assessment survey on the 31st so we could go back to Yangon to celebrate the New Year’s eve. And we did finish it on time. Hahaha. Ruby, Bunneng, Shamrock, Thein Gi, Ko Hteik and I went to Mr. Guitarman for the New Year countdown.

What was your status by Valentine’s day of 2009?
It’s complicated. Hahaha. I think I was sick that day.

Did you have to go to the hospital?
Yup. For vaccine shots and regular check-ups.

Did you have any encounters with the police?
Yes! We were about to board the plane for Bagan when the airport police approached our group because Kyi Phyu was taking pictures inside the airport. Fortunately, we have some kind of diplomatic immunity. Hahaha.

What did you purchase over $500?
New digital camera and an iPod.

Did you know anybody who got married?
Yup. Two high school classmates, Tine and Heidee.

Did you know anybody who passed away?
None in my immediate family.

What sporting events did you attend?
None.

What concerts/shows did you go to?
David Cook – David Archuleta stint in Manila and some mini-gigs in LB.

Where do you live now?
Still in Los Baños.

Describe your birthday.
Nothing special. I opted not to celebrate it.

What’s the one thing you thought you would never do but did?
Hmm. Maybe, being away from family and friends for a long time and immensely missing them.

Any new additions to your family?
One new nephew. Also, I have my first apo with DevComSoc.

What was your best month?
January to April and September to October.

Who was your best drinking buddy?
Buddies, actually. DevComSoc peeps and ECOW.

Made new friends?
Yup.

Any regrets?
Yup.

What do you want to change in 2010?
Hmm. I just want my 2010 to be more organized. 2009 was too unplanned and spontaneous for me.

Overall, how would you rate this year?
A six out of ten, perhaps.

Have any life changes in 2009?
Yes. A lot.

Got a new job?
Almost. Hahaha.

How old did you turn this year?
22.

Did anything embarrassing?
Of course! Hahaha. One of them is joining Game Ka Na Ba? again, this time with Pam and Don.

Got married or divorced?
No.

Be honest – did you watch American Idol?
Yes, of course. Big Idol fan here.

Started a new hobby?
Downloading torrents and Twitter-ing.

Are you happy to see 2009 go?
YES!

Drank Starbucks in 2009?
Yup.

Been naughty or nice?
Nice. Hahaha. Did some naughty stuff, here and there.

What are you wishing for in 2010?
Just a concrete plan for the next years. I need to fix my life. Hahaha.

Done something you’ve regretted?
Yes.

Lost someone?
I hope not.

Cut class?
Not a student anymore.

Was involved in something you’ll never forget?
YES.

Cooked a gross meal?
Maybe.

Lost something important to you?
Yes. My phone was snatched at the MRT last October.

Got a gift you adore?
Yup.

Tripped over a coffee table?
I don’t know. But, I remember slamming with the sliding door of Cafe Antonio. Hahaha.

Dyed your hair?
Nope.

Came close to losing your life?
Hmm. I don’t think so.

Went to a party?
Yup.

Read a great book?
Yes. A Short History of Nearly Everything and Mother Tongue, both by Bill Bryson. Mitch Albom’s For One More Day and the Mark Leyner – Billy Goldenberg series.

Did you meet any new friends this year?
Yup.

Did you dislike anyone?
Yup.

Did you grow apart from anyone?
Not sure. Maybe.

Do you have any regrets when it comes to your friendships?
Nope.

Did you have a cake on your birthday?
I think so. I don’t remember, actually. My birthday this year is (purposely) uneventful.

Did you get any presents on your birthday?
Yes!

Did you change at all this year?
Yes, I think so.

Did you change your style?
Style? Maybe.

Were you in school?
Not anymore.

Did you have a job?
Yes. Stress on the ‘DID’. Hahaha.

Did you drive?
Yup, especially motorbikes.

Did anyone close to you give birth?
None that I know of.

Did you go on any vacations?
Yes, trip to Bagan, Myanmar and to Palawan.

Would you change anything about yourself now?
Yes.

Was 2009 a good year?
So-so.

Do you think 2010 will top 2009?
Hopefully.

No comments yet

Leave a comment